Friends of monmouth Battlefield

Schedule of Events 2022

Events in bold occur at Monmouth Battlefield State Park

Jan 2, 2022 (Sat)

New Year’s Day Hike (weather permitting)
Walking tour of Perrine Hill.

See where Molly Pitcher fought.
Meet at Visitor Center at 11:00 A.M.
Then drive in convoy to Perrine Hill on Route 522
Jan 2, 2022 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield (weather permitting)

Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.
Feb 6, 2022 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield.

Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.
Feb 13, 2022 (Sun)

Program on “Black and Native American Troops at the Battle of Monmouth.”

Held at 2 PM at the Visitor Center Auditorium.
Feb 20, 2022 (Sun)

Program on “George Washington Minute by Minute at Monmouth”

Held at 2 PM at the Visitor Center Auditorium.
March 6, 2022 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield.

Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.
March 13, 2022 (Sun)

Program on “Molly Pitcher at Monmouth.

Held at 2 PM in the Visitor Center Auditorium
March 27, 2022 (Sun)

Visit the several sites claiming to be Molly Pitcher’s Well.

Drive to the heart of the battlefield to visit the different spots that have been claimed to be the location of Molly’s well. Tour will end at the new Molly Pitcher Overlook on Perrine Hill. Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.
April 3, 2022 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield

Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.

Craig House opens for the season (1-4 PM)
April 24, 2022 (Sun)

Driving tour of the battle area east of Freehold.

Starts at the Battle of Monmouth Monument on Court Street in Freehold. Then visit two important seldom seen areas of the morning portion of the battle, the East Morass and Briar Hill. Meet at 1:30 PM at Visitor Center.
April 30, 2022 (Sat)

Bird Walk on the battlefield.

Identify birds that live here or pass through in the spring.
Meet at 9 AM at the Visitor Center.
May 1, 2022 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield

Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM
May 15, 2022 (Sun)

Walking tour, “The Fight at the Point of Woods.”

Visit the scene of fierce fighting at the in the early afternoon.
Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.

**************************************************************************************
REVOLUTIONARY WAR DAYS IN MONMOUTH COUNTY
FOMB Programs June 4 to July 4, 2022

June 4, 2022 (Sat)

Driving tour covering the British approach route to the battle.

Meeting place and itinerary TBA.
June 5, 2022 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield (Hedge Row and Parsonage).

Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.
June 11, 2022 (Sat)

Driving tour covering General Lafayette’s march from Cranbury through Hightstown to Robbins’ Tavern (Clarksburg) the two days before the battle.

Meeting place and time TBA.
June 12, 2022 (Sun)

Driving tour to visit the site of the American encampment encampments at Ponolopon Bridge the day before the battle of Monmouth.

Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.
June 18, 2022 (Sat)

Annual reenactment of the Battle of Monmouth

Encampment and programs 10 AM-4 PM.
June 19, 2022 (Sun)

Annual reenactment of the Battle of Monmouth

Encampment and programs 10 AM-3 PM.
June 25, 2022 (Sat)

244th Anniversary of the Battle of Monmouth.

Special programs and tours 10 AM-4 PM.
June 26, 2022 (Sun)

244th Anniversary of the Battle of Monmouth.

Special programs and tours 11 AM-4 PM.
July 2, 2022 (Sat)

Driving tour of the British route after the battle from Monmouth to Sandy Hook.

Time and itinerary TBA.
July 3, 2022 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield

Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.
July 4, 2022 (Mon)

Commemoration of Independence Day at the Park

**************************************************************************************

July 10, 2022 (Sun)

Program on the 14th New Jersey at the Battle of  Monocacy.

Held at 1:30 PM in the Visitor Center Auditorium.
July 17, 2022 (Sun)

Driving tour to the battle of Monmouth Monument on Court Street in Freehold.

Meet at Visitor Center at 2 PM.
August 7, 2022 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield.

Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.
Sept 4, 2022 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield.

Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.
Sept 11, 2022 (Sun)

Program on the role of the New Jersey Troops in the the Battle of Monmouth.

Held at 2 PM in the Visitor Center Auditorium.
Sept 18, 2022 (Sun)

Program on the 14th New Jersey at the Battle of 3rd Winchester, and the death of Major Peter Vredenburg.

Held at 2 PM at the Visitor Center Auditorium
Oct 2, 2022 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield.

Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.
Nov 6, 2022 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield.

Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.
Dec 4, 2022 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield.

Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.

Craig House closes for the season.
Dec 10, 2022 (Sat)

Annual meeting, 2 PM, Visitor Center

Dec 11, 2022 (Sun)

Program on the 28th New Jersey at the battle of Fredericksburg.

2 PM in the Visitor Center Auditorium.

Craig House open Sundays 1-4 PM, April 3 to December 4

*Gift Shop in Visitor Center open Sundays 1-4 PM when Visitor Center is open

The Visitor Center is open daily 9 AM to 4 PM, except for the following holidays
(the Park itself remains open):
New Year’s Day
Martin Luther King Day
Presidents Day
Thanksgiving Day
Christmas Day

Note: events at the Park subject to Park being open and Governor’s rules permitting. Events at the park subject to mask wearing, social distancing, and other C0vid-19 safety protocols.

The Park itself is open longer than the Visitor Center, but the hours are seasonal.
Call the Park office for current hours.

The Park’s physical address is 16 Business Route 33, Manalapan, NJ 07726.


Battle Announcement
Privacy Policy · Print This Page · Back to Top
© Friends of Monmouth Battlefield