Friends of monmouth Battlefield

Schedule of Events 2017

Events in bold occur at Monmouth Battlefield State Park

Jan 1, 2017 (Sun)

New Year’s Day Hike.
Walking tour of Perrine Hill.

See where Molly Pitcher fought.
Meet at Visitor Center at 11:00 A.M.
Jan 11, 2017 (Wed)

General Meeting. Program on “They Were Both Here: Aaron Burr and Alexander Hamilton at the Battle of Monmouth.”

Meeting held at 7 PM at the main branch of the Monmouth County Library, Symmes Drive, Manalapan. (snow date: Feb 16)
Feb 5, 2017 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield.

Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.
Feb 12, 2017 (Sun)

Program on “George Washington at Monmouth”

Held at 2 PM at the Visitor Center Auditorium.
Feb 19, 2017 (Sun)

Program on “Black and Native American Troops at the Battle of Monmouth.”

Held at 2 PM at the Visitor Center Auditorium.
March 5, 2017 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield.

Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.
March 16, 2017 (Thu)

General Meeting. Program on “Molly Pitcher and other Women Warriors of the Revolution.”

Meeting held at 7 PM at the main branch of the Monmouth County Library, Symmes Drive, Manalapan
March 19, 2017 (Sun)

Program on “Molly Pitcher at Monmouth.

Held at 2 PM in the Visitor Center Auditorium
March 26, 2017 (Sun)

Visit the several sites claiming to be Molly Pitcher’s Well.

Drive to the heart of the battlefield to visit the different spots that have been claimed to be the location of Molly’s well. Tour will end at the new Molly Pitcher Overlook on Perrine Hill. Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.
April 2, 2017 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield

Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.
April 9, 2017 (Sun)

Driving tour of the battle area east of Freehold.

Visit two important seldom seen areas of the morning portion of the battle, the East Morass and Briar Hill. Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.


Craig House opens for the season (1-4 PM)

May 6, 2017 (Sat)

“Weekend in Old Monmouth County”
Open House at Craig House

10 AM to 4 PM
May 7, 2017 (Sun)

“Weekend in Old Monmouth County”
Open House at Craig House

11 AM to 4 PM


Walking tour of the battlefield

Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM
May 13, 2017 (Sat)

“Spirit of New Jersey” History Fair

Held at Monmouth Battlefield State Park
May 14, 2017 (Sun)

Walking tour, “The Fight at the Point of Woods.”

Visit the scene of fierce fighting at the in the early afternoon. Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.

Bird Walk.

Meet at Visitor Center at 8 AM
May 28, 2017 (Sun)

Memorial Day observance at the Park, 2 PM.

**************************************************************************************
REVOLUTIONARY WAR DAYS IN MONMOUTH COUNTY
FOMB Programs June 4 to July 4, 2017

June 4, 2017 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield (Hedge Row and Parsonage).

Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.
June 8, 2017 (Thu)

General Meeting.”General Henry Clinton and British Leadership at Monmouth.”

Meeting held at 7 PM at the main branch of the Monmouth. County Library, Symmes Drive, Manalapan.
June 11, 2017 (Sun)

Driving tour to visit the site of the American encampment encampments at Ponolopon Bridge the day before the battle of Monmouth.

Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.
June 17, 2017 (Sat)

Annual reenactment of the Battle of Monmouth

Encampment and programs 10 AM-4 PM.
June 18, 2017 (Sun)

Annual reenactment of the Battle of Monmouth

Encampment and programs 10 AM-3 PM.
June 24, 2017 (Sat)

239th Anniversary of the Battle of Monmouth.

Special programs and tours 10 AM-4 PM.
June 25, 2017 (Sun)

239th Anniversary of the Battle of Monmouth.

Special programs and tours 11 AM-4PM.
July 2, 2017 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield.

Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.
July 4, 2017 (Tue)

Joint Program. “The Monmouth Campaign” by David Martin. “The Army Celebrates the 4th of July,” by George Dawson.

Held in Boyd Park in New Brunswick, 2 PM.

**************************************************************************************

July 9, 2017 (Sun)

Program on the 14th New Jersey at the Battle of Monocacy.

Held at 2 PM in the Visitor Center Auditorium.
August 6, 2017 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield.

Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.
Sept 3, 2017 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield.

Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.
Sept 10, 2017 (Sun)

Program on the role of the New Jersey Regulars and Militia in the Battle.

2 PM at the Visitor Center Auditorium
Sept 17, 2017 (Sun)

Program on the 14th New Jersey at the Battle of 3rd Winchester, and the death of Major Peter Vredenburg.

Held at 2 PM in the Visitor Center Auditorium.
Oct 1, 2017 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield.

Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.
October 5, 2017 (Thu)

General Meeting. Program TBA.

Meeting held at 7 PM at the main branch of the Monmouth County Library, Symmes Drive, Manalapan.
Nov 5, 2017 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield.

Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.
Dec 3, 2017 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield.

Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.

Craig House closes for the season.
Dec 6, 2017 (Wed)

Annual business meeting

Meeting held at 7 PM at the main branch of the Monmouth County Library, Symmes Drive, Manalapan.
Dec 10, 2017 (Sun)

Program on the 28th New Jersey at the battle of Fredericksburg.

2 PM in the Visitor Center Auditorium.

Craig House open Sundays 1-4 PM, April 9 to December 3

The Visitor Center is open daily 9 AM to 4 PM, except for the following holidays
(the Park itself remains open):
New Year’s Day
Martin Luther King Day
Presidents Day
Thanksgiving Day
Christmas Day

The Park itself is open longer than the Visitor Center, but the hours are seasonal.
Call the Park office for current hours.

The Park’s physical address is 16 Business Route 33, Manalapan, NJ 07726.


Battle Announcement
Privacy Policy · Print This Page · Back to Top
© Friends of Monmouth Battlefield