Friends of monmouth Battlefield

Schedule of Events 2016

Events in bold occur at Monmouth Battlefield State Park

Jan 1, 2016 (Fri)

New Year’s Day Hike.
Walking tour of Perrine Hill.

See where Molly Pitcher fought.
Meet at Visitor Center at 11:00 A.M.
Jan 3, 2016 (Sun)

Driving tour of the battlefield.

Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.
Feb 7, 2016 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield.

Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.
Feb 14, 2016 (Sun)

Program on “George Washington’s Humor”

Held at 2 PM at the Visitor Center Auditorium.
March 6, 2016 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield.

Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.
March 20, 2016 (Sun)

Visit the several sites claiming to be Molly Pitcher’s Well.

Drive to the heart of the battlefield to visit the different spots that have been claimed to be the location of Molly’s well. Tour will end at the new Molly Pitcher Overlook on Perrine Hill. Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.
March 30, 2016 (Wed)

General Meeting. Program on “Molly Pitcher and the American Artillery at Monmouth”

Meeting held at 7 PM at the main branch of the Monmouth County Library, Symmes Drive, Manalapan
April 3, 2016 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield

Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.
Craig House opens for the season (1-4 PM)
April 10, 2016 (Sun)

Driving tour of the battle area east of Freehold.

Visit two important seldom seen areas of the morning portion of the battle, the East Morass and Briar Hill. Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.
April 30, 2016 (Sat)

“Weekend in Old Monmouth County”
Open House at Craig House

10 AM to 4 PM
May 1, 2016 (Sun)

“Weekend in Old Monmouth County”
Open House at Craig House

11 AM to 4 PM


Walking tour of the battlefield

Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM
May 8, 2016 (Sun)

Walking tour, “Defense of the Hedgerow.”

A study of troop positions during the fierce fighting at the Hedgerow late in the morning. Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM
May 14, 2016 (Sat)

“Spirit of New Jersey” History Fair

Held at Monmouth Battlefield State Park
May 15, 2016 (Sun)

Bird Walk. Enjoy the flora and fauna in the Park

Meet at Visitor Center at 8 AM
For information and registration, 732-249-2670
May 29, 2016 (Sun)

Memorial Day observance at the Park, 2 PM.

**************************************************************************************
REVOLUTIONARY WAR DAYS IN MONMOUTH COUNTY
FOMB Programs June 5 to July 4, 2016

June 5, 2016 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield (Hedge Row and Parsonage).

Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.
June 8, 2016 (Wed)

General Charles Lee at Monmouth: His Own Story.

General Lee’s account of how he fought the first half of the first half of the battle. In his opinion, he deserved a medal for saving the day rather than being court-martialed for almost losing the battle.
Meeting held at 7 PM at the main branch of the Monmouth. County Library, Symmes Drive, Manalapan.
June 12, 2016 (Sun)

Driving tour to visit the site of the American encampment encampments at Ponolopon Bridge the day before the battle of Monmouth.

Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.
June 18, 2016 (Sat)

Annual reenactment of the Battle of Monmouth

Encampment and programs 10 AM-4 PM.
June 19, 2016 (Sun)

Annual reenactment of the Battle of Monmouth

Encampment and programs 10 AM-3 PM.
June 25, 2016 (Sat)

238th Anniversary of the Battle of Monmouth.

Special programs and tours 10 AM-4 PM.
June 26, 2016 (Sun)

238th Anniversary of the Battle of Monmouth.

Special programs and tours 11 AM-4PM.
July 4, 2016 (Mon)

Joint Program. “The Monmouth Campaign” by David Martin. “The Army Celebrates the 4th of July,” by George Dawson.

Held at 1:30 PM at the Buccleuch Mansion, Buccleuch Park, New Brunswick (located on Easton Ave., New Brunswick, NJ 08901).

**************************************************************************************

August 7, 2016 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield.

Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.
Sept 4, 2016 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield.

Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.
Sept 11, 2016 (Sun)

Program on the role of the New Jersey Militia in the Battle.

2 PM at the Visitor Center Auditorium
Oct 2, 2016 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield.

Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.
October 6, 2016 (Wed)

Program on the role of General “Mad Anthony” Wayne in the battle of Monmouth. He was the most active and maybe the best officer on the field.

Meeting held at 7 PM at the main branch of the Monmouth County Library, Symmes Drive, Manalapan. Date moved from October 5.
Nov 6, 2016 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield.

Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.
Dec 4, 2016 (Sun)

Walking tour of the battlefield.

Meet at Visitor Center at 1:30 PM.
Dec 7, 2016 (Wed)

Annual business meeting

Meeting held at 7 PM at the main branch of the Monmouth County Library, Symmes Drive, Manalapan.

The Visitor Center is open daily 9 AM to 4 PM, except for the following holidays
(the Park itself remains open):
New Year’s Day
Martin Luther King Day
Presidents Day
Thanksgiving Day
Christmas Day

The Park itself is open longer than the Visitor Center, but the hours are seasonal.
Call the Park office for current hours.

The Park’s physical address is 16 Business Route 33, Manalapan, NJ 07726.


Battle Announcement
Privacy Policy · Print This Page · Back to Top
© Friends of Monmouth Battlefield